Apps documentation
Requirements and Test Management for Jira
Server/Data Center Cloud
Requirements and Test Management for Jira

Server/Data Center

Cloud

Guides
FAQ
Release notes
Last updated Aug 6, 2020

Permissions

This chapter provides information about project permissions used by RTM app.

RTM app uses adjusted project permissions. Each project permission grants access to different operation within RTM testing project.

Warning

Before you start, log in as a user with the Jira Administrators global permissions.

Steps

To set up permissions:

  1. Choose the project you want to configure.
  2. From project sidebar, select Project settings.
  3. Go to Permissions.
  4. Go to Actions > Edit permissions.
    Go to Edit permissions
    Go to Edit permissions
  5. Go to selected permission, click Edit and grant permission.

Result

A new configuration is added.

Project permissions used by RTM app

Assign issues

With Assign issues permission, user will be able to assign issues to other people.
Without Assign issues permission Assignee field won’t be displayed on the Create Issue Screen. While editing issues, Assignee field will be disabled.

Create issues

If Create issues permission is not granted in RTM project, particular group will not have access to create RTM features. Create buttons will not be visible.
Users also won’t be able to create Test Plan Executions.

Delete issues

User without Delete Issues permission cannot remove issues and objects. The bin icon will be unavailable.

Edit issues

Disabled Edit Issues permission blocks inline edits in fields and Test Case steps.

RTM app is based on relations between features. With linking permission particular group will be also able to create Test Plan Execution and Defects. Linking permission allows to add Test Cases to Test Plan, cover Requirement by Test Case and so on.

Comments

RTM app uses all comments permissions: Add comments, Delete all comments, Delete own comments, Edit all comments, Edit own comments.
For example, while executing Test Case Execution, when you need to comment each step.

Attachments

Grant an access to Create Attachments, Delete All Attachments, Delete Own Attachments.
For example, without Create Attachments permission, an uploading field won’t be visible in steps.

Changing statuses

Decide which group will be able to change issues statuses. Configure Resolve Issues permission to resolve and reopen issues. RTM app uses also Transition issues permission.

Worklogs

RTM app uses Worklog field. Make sure you grant Worklog permissions, such as: Delete All Worklogs, Delete Own Worklogs, Edit All Worklogs, Edit Own Worklogs, Work On Issues.
For example, Edit All Worklogs permission allows to set and edit Worklog field. Edit Own worklogs allows to edit worklogs created by ourselves.
After granting this permission and adding time tracking fields to the project, they will be visible on RTM screens which allows to define test cases time and determine their execution time.

Need help?

If you can’t find the answer you need in our documentation, raise a support request*.
*Include as much information as possible to help our support team resolve your issue faster.