Apps documentation
My Requests Extension for Jira Service Management
My Requests Extension for Jira Service Management
Documentation
FAQ
Release notes
Last updated Jul 29, 2021

Filters

Learn how to use, save and share filters

Info

Before proceeding make sure that your Request Type’s name doesn’t have whitespaces at the end. Otherwise, your Requests will not be displayed when you filter them.

On the app’s Requests page there are two types of filters:

  • Default - these filters appear in the Default section on the Requests page. Default filters are configured by the Jira administrators who can save, remove, and share them, but also can grant permissions to other users to save and share default filters with others. We recommend that this section contains only essential filters, useful for every user, regardless of the function or permission scope.
  • User-created - these filters appear in the My filters section on the Requests page and, if they’re not shared they are visible only for the customer who created them. Customers can also share their filters so that others can see and use them, but only the original creator can remove or modify them. Once the filter is removed, it also disappears from every customer’s screen that the filter was shared with. By default, all the customers can save and share their filters. However, the Jira administrator can grant or restrict permissions for specific users, groups or organizations.

Default filters

All requests, Open and Closed filters on the left sidebar are default and all customers can see them.

Default filters panel
Default filters panel
Note
Permissions to remove, edit or share default filters is determined by the Jira administrator.

Creating filters

You can create and save your filters to access them faster in the future.

Steps

  1. On the left sidebar, select a filter from the Default section.
  2. Select the columns you want to see in your filter.
  3. Filter requests using selected criteria.
  4. Expand a drop-down list in the top part of the screen and select Save as.
    Custom filter drop-down list
    Custom filter drop-down list
  5. Type a name of your filter. The maximum length is 45 characters.
    Custom filter name field
    Custom filter name field
  6. [Optional] Share your filter by turning on the toggle below.
    Share filter toggle
    Share filter toggle
  7. [Optional] Select groups, organizations or users from the select field.
    Sharing scope
    Sharing scope
  8. Click Add.
    Sharing confirmation
    Sharing confirmation
  9. Click Save.
    Saving filter
    Saving filter

Result

Filter appears in the user-created section.

Filter added
Filter added

Tip

Check the Top Navigation Bar checkbox, so the filter appears in the drop-down list on the requests page.

Top Navigation Bar checkbox
Top Navigation Bar checkbox
Top Navigation Bar in Help Center
Top Navigation Bar in Help Center
Info

If a filter is shared, a special icon appears next to its name.

Shared filter icon
Shared filter icon

Editing filters

You can edit, override and delete an already saved filter.

Steps

  1. Click Edit in the upper part of the screen.
    Edit panel
    Edit panel
  2. Enter changes on the panel.
    Entering changes
    Entering changes
  3. Click Edit.
    Edit confirmation
    Edit confirmation

Result

The filter is edited

Edit result
Edit result

To edit general filter settings, for example: columns order or displayed criteria, enter changes on the filter and click Save.

Custom filter criteria editing
Custom filter criteria editing

To see filter details, click Details.

Filter details
Filter details

Use an already saved filter to create a new one. Modify fields or criteria and click Save as. Also, you can choose Discard unsaved changes or click Delete to remove filter permanently.

Custom filter context menu
Custom filter context menu

To save filter as default, select Save as default from the context menu.

Warning
This option requires permission granted by the Jira administrator.

Shared filters

You can use filters which are shared by other users/groups/organizations with you.

Warning
Users with the Jira Administrators global permission can share filters with everybody. Customers can share filters only with users from the organization they belong to.

Steps

To show these filters on Shared filters list:

  1. Go to the Shared filters section.
  2. Click Browse all.
    Shared filters panel
    Shared filters panel
  3. Select filter.
  4. Click Confirm.
    Shared filters confirming
    Shared filters confirming

Result

A shared filter is added to the list.

Note

If you delete a shared filter that you’re the owner of, it will also disappear from every customer’s screen that the filter was shared with.

Need help?

If you can’t find the answer you need in our documentation, raise a support request.